Posted by: JoeD2133 | April 3, 2007

NEWS ALERT: Front-Page Story on Newsday’s Website

Check it out everyone, and thank you Jim Baumbach!  Every article furthers the cause, and this front-page spot is much appreciated:

(Link to Newsday’s online sports front page) (Direct link to the article)

Also, check out this piece on yesterday’s Daily News website:

(Direct link to article)(You have to scroll down to get to it)

The writer interviews a Mets fan, of all people, so obviously nothing positive is going to come out of this article – it is entertaining, however, and expected.  As for interviewee Chuck’s “un-American” jab, Project A13 is not telling people to stop booing A-Rod, it is presenting an argument for why booing does not help his performance on the field, and asking fans to choose what they want to do.  This ability to choose is very American, as is my First Amendment right to create the website.  Thanks Chuck!

Responses

  1. Siskokid55 said:
    April 3rd, 2007 at 4:36 pm
    The contract should be a non-issue. Some dope in Texas gave it to him,(I’d would have taken it wouldn”t you). Texas is full of missmanagment, just look at our President (oh, that’s right he was involved with that team wasn’t he).The Yanks got a bargin, Texas is paying a lot of it. In taking the contract off their hands the Yanks also saved Rangers baseball. ARod is Demag plus, lets get him to The Hall in pinstripes.Flagstaff AZ.

  2. Hey, I really enjoy what you’re doing with this site and I’m glad I saw this in Newsday. The Yankees are better with an A-rod at 100% and I refused to boo him at opening day yesterday and I will continue to do so and I will be spreading the word about this site. Good Work and hopefully Arod will be in for the long haul!

  3. I’ll tell you this, I (unfortunate or not), have several Red Sox friends and believe me, they just LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that Yankee fans get all over ARod. There’s another clue you are on the right track. If you doubt it, talk to one of them, (just wash up real well afterward.)

    I also know at least one of them posted a negative comment about your work so disregard some of those. Yankee prosperity is the last thing they are interested in.

  4. Thank you for doing this. Maybe it’s growing up a damned-Yankee in the South, but it makes me cringe listening to the broadcast and hearing the boos with every at-bat. You don’t need Sterling to tell you who’s up.

    With the knowledge that nothing we do as Yankee fans will ever keep Alex from ending his career as one of the greatest players of all time we should relish the chance to see him play, marvel at his God-given ability and lift him up.

    When my kids ask me if I got to see him play, and marvel that I could watch him everyday, I want to be able to say that I watched him as I do all Yankees, with pride, respect and admiration and not having to awkwardly admit that I tried to rip his heart out before, during, and after every at-bat.

  5. jmaguire-

    I like what you’re doing here. I may be completely off base, but in my opinion, responsibility for the drama surrounding A-Rod and his tenure in New York is directly attributable to the Yankee writers from the New York Post and Daily News, as well as ESPN baseball analysts like Buster Olney, Steve Phillips and Jason Stark.

    Is this a played theme – to blame the media for reporting the wrong story? Perhaps. But I would challenge you to endeavor to read all of these writers daily and engage them, if only in this forum, on their typically incorrect assumptions and conclusions regarding A-Rod.

    This may not be your MO, but I think keeping journalists who’ve abandoned integrity and ethics for money via tabloid style reporting in check might be just what we need to get these guys to stop spewing their opinion as fact in heavily circulated news outlets. This, again IMO, is attacking the source of why the fans boo arguably the best player of our time, and could be the start of the solution.


Leave a Reply

Categories

