Posted by: JoeD2133 | April 4, 2007

WORK IN PROGRESS: T-Shirts, Hats, Wristbands, etc.

“It changed so much in five at-bats, like the stock market.  But I’ll tell you what, the curtain call made me feel really good.  You just build from the positive.”

                                                                   —A-Rod on Opening Day

Build from the positive… enough said.  This is exactly what we’re trying to do here, correct?  Let me take a moment to say thank you, once again, to all of you out there who are offering your words of support in these “initial stages” of The Movement.  The beginning of a shift in mindset, which is really the ultimate goal of this project, is always the most difficult time in terms of sustaining momentum.  Detractors are still prevelant and not ready to change, and even some who agree with the concept might need more convincing, which only comes with time.  Be patient, be positive, and continue to spread the word.  Baseball is a long season, and we’ll get there, “one fan at a time“.

Well, since today’s game has been rained out, I thought I’d let everyone know what I’m thinking in terms of “Next Steps”.  Seeing how the free t-shirts were a big hit in the stands on Monday, and seeing how I couldn’t possibly produce t-shirts to give away on a daily basis, all season long, I am doing research on how to set up the website to accomodate this need.  One hundred percent of the profits will go to charity (I want to allow each of you to choose your charity, if possible, on an order-by-order basis) and I will need to partner with a provider that can make t-shirts, hats, wristbands, etc.

This way, everyone who supports A-Rod and The Movement can have something tangible to own, and obviously, wearing these products will help spread the word, show your support, AND further charitable causes at the same time – that’s the big idea!  Let me know what you think, and in the interim, I have linked PDF’s to the website that contain the FRONT and BACK designs of the t-shirts I was giving out on Monday.  With these in hand, each of you can print out signs, stickers, etc., or go to your local t-shirt makers and get your own t-shirts made (on a LIMITED LICENSE from me – no selling!!!)  When you remove money from the equation, good things tend to happen.

One last thing.  In an effort to make Project A13 supporters extremely visible in the stands (to other fans in attendance, to the television cameras, AND to A-Rod), we need to pick a color for the t-shirts that really stands out, and one that everyone is willing to wear.  My initial suggestion is the bright orange or yellow that construction workers wear (with navy blue ink for the graphics), because that’s what we’re all doing here, right?  We’re building a movement.  Or, in other words, “building from the positive.”  In a very real sense, we’re constructing a new environment at Yankee Stadium, so maybe we should wear a color that puts everyone on notice.  Again, just a suggestion, so let me know your thoughts.  Thank you.

Responses

  1. i think if we do orange and blue were gonna look like the mets, we should do yellow, or bright green.

  2. Then how about a fire engine yellow background with navy graphics? And the bracelets would have to be the same screaming yellow – not the Lance Armstrong yellow that everyone knows. We want Alex to be able to identify his fans. 🙂

  3. I’m putting my vote in for yellow with blue writing. Go A-Rod!

  4. I love the idea of fire engine yellow with navy! I can not wait to see how they come out!

  5. Most definitely the bright yellow and navy blue. It will stick out in the stands. We must keep the movement going foward. Private Ray reporting for duty.

  6. I just want to thank you for creating this haven for Alex supporters who really want to see him succeed in pinstripes. Even though I live in Orlando Florida right now I was born and raised in New York and suffer when I can’t see my Yankees. Thank God cable & MLB settled on providing the package. Anyway, I want to tell you that I will be wearing my t-shirt in support of this website and the success of Alex this year. Hopefully I will be able to “infect” others to support your website and Alex. If there is anything I can do to help this cause please feel free to inform me on how. I believe this will be a breakout year for Alex, if that is at all possible. I look forward to contributing. I urge all fans and supporters to spread the word in your town, city, state. I will be going up to NY for the second series vs. Boston. I will be attending Mon & Tues game. If anyone is going to this game in May please email me at JLYanks2580@aol.com. I’d love to take a few photos for the website if the host is willing to post. Thanks guys & gals. Go Yankees!

  7. Fire engine yellow with navy sounds great !!!

    I left my number with the “guy” handing out t-shirts on opening day by the bigbat. I am willing to print the shirts for practically cost to help the movement.

    Go Yanks and Go A-Rod !!!!

  8. http://www.realgm.com/boards/baseball/viewforum.php?f=27

    Ive started a thread about this website

  9. Great website! Heard about it in an online article. Can’t wait for the t-shirts/wrist bands to come out. Viva The Movement!


Leave a Reply

Categories

